Public holidays in Pakistan

There are at least 10 national public holidays in Pakistan each year. There are also bank and optional holidays across the country.

The next public holiday in Pakistan is on

25 December 2022

Quaid-e-Azam Day / Christmas

National holidays

Public holidays are national holidays for everyone to take the time off from any work and educational activities to enjoy the days with family and friends. Some of the religious holidays may depend on lunar cycle.

Kashmir Day
Pakistan Day
Labour Day
Eid-ul-Fitr *
Eid-ul-Fitr (Day 2) *
Eid-ul-Fitr (Day 3) *
Ed-ul-Azha *
Ed-ul-Azha (Day 2) *
Ed-ul-Azha (Day 3) *
Ashura (9 Muharram) *
Ashura (10 Muharram) *
Independence Day
Eid Milad-un-Nabi *
Quaid-e-Azam Day / Christmas
Day after Christmas

Bank holidays

Banks are closed for any public dealing on this holidays for internal operations only.

Bank holiday
Bank holiday (Zakat deduction)
Bank holiday

Other holidays

Optional holidays are based on diverse communities living across Pakistan. These holidays are for those communities to celebrate their special religious and cultural events. These are not national holidays.

Government sector employees

Employees in government sectors require prior arrangements to take optional holidays. The limit to take these optional holidays per calendar year is up to 1 day off for Muslims and 3 days off for people of other religions.

New Year Day
Basant Punchami
Shab-e-Meraj *
Shab-e-Barat *
Good Friday
Easter Sunday
Easter Monday
Buddha Purnima
Janam Ashtami
Lord Zoroaster birthday (Khordad Sal)
Chehlum *
Durga Puja
Guru Valmik Sawami birthday
Giyarvee Shareef *
Guru Nanak Dev birthday

* Based on Islamic Hijri calendar and subject to the Moon sighting.