Indo-Pak War of 1971

Pakistan and India went into their third military conflict on 3 December 1971 ending in Bangladesh appearing as a new nation.

The militaries of Pakistan and India confronted during Bangladesh Liberation War in East Pakistan. This resulted in Pakistani capitulation in Dhaka on 16 December 1971 and Bangladesh as a sovereign country.

Pakistan launched Operation Chengiz Khan with preemptive air stikes that led to commencement of hostilities with Pakistan and Indian entry into the war of independence in East Pakistan. It resulted in engagement on both eastern and western fronts. Pakistan signed an instrument of surrender on 16 December 1971 in Dhaka that formed the nation of Bangladesh. Approximately 93,000 people from Pakistan armed forces, civilians and Bengali soldiers were taken as prisoners of war.

Pakistan and India signed Shimla Agreement on 2 July 1972 resulting in gradual release of prisoners of war and insurance to Bangladesh sovereignty by Pakistan.

Casualties / Losses (India)
Casualties / Losses (Pakistan)